alt

Epitympanitis — what is it?

Epitympanitis is a disease in which surgery is the only treatment tactic. This disease is dangerous for the patient's life since no drugs and medicines can have an effect. Epitympanitis in most cases is characterized by the presence of cholesteatoma, which, in turn, secretes an enzyme that destroys bone tissue. Since there is a very thin bone plate between the middle ear and the brain, its destruction is only a matter of time. In addition to the close location of the brain, the canal of the facial nerve passes directly in the tympanic cavity, and there is also an organ of balance, with the defeat of which paresis of the facial muscles and dizziness are possible.

Examination before surgery of tympanoplasty for epitympanitis

Mandatory diagnostics include:

  • audiometry;
  • computed tomography of the temporal bones;
  • an MRI of the temporal bones to clarify the surgical tactics (in some cases).
  • Additional studies may also be required, such as vestibulometry, electromyography, etc.
  • Before a patient is admitted to a hospital, he must undergo a series of laboratory tests and functional tests. It depends on their results whether complications can be avoided later.

Mandatory examination for epitympanitis includes:

  • audiometry;
  • general blood analysis;
  • biochemistry of blood ;
  • coagulogram - blood clotting analysis;
  • general urine analysis;
  • analysis for blood group and Rh factor;
  • chest fluorography;
  • electrocardiography.

Audiometry should be performed before surgery and submitted to the audiometric office on the day of discharge to avoid its loss. You can make a photocopy or photo of it, but the document itself must be kept in the audiometric office, as this is the only way to control hearing.

Preparation for surgery

On the eve of the operation you must:

  • give up alcohol and smoking;
  • refuse heavy food, while the last meal should be at least 6 hours before the operation (low-fat broth, meat or fish, fruits and vegetables);
  • not drink 4 hours before surgery;
  • be on an empty stomach if the surgery is performed in the morning.

Hospital checklist:

  • comfortable clothing (tracksuit, T-shirts made of natural fabric, changeable underwear);
  • comfortable shoes;
  • slippers;
  • personal hygiene products;
  • book or laptop, since after the operation you will have to spend another 1-2 days in the hospital.
  • Note! It is better to give valuable things to relatives during the operation or to warn the medical staff about them.

Recovery period

When you wake up after surgery, you will have a bandage on your head. Until full awakening, you will be under the supervision of doctors, and only after that, you will be transferred to the ward. The process may take another 1-2 hours. After you arrive at the ward, you can drink in 2-3 hours. It is worth remembering that in certain cases, you may need to lie down for a day, but you will definitely be warned about this.

Usually, the outer bandage is removed the day after surgery. There are Merocel tampons in the ear canal. Tampons in the ear canal will stay for a month until they are removed, drops must be instilled onto this tampon. There may be a slight protrusion of the ear, which will go away over time. Only after the first dressing will the doctor be able to guide you regarding a possible discharge date.

Postoperative period at home

It is necessary to follow all the recommendations of the doctor. You are at the stage of recovery, but this does not mean that you are already healthy. The necessary drug therapy is usually prescribed individually for each person at discharge. The stitches are removed 7-8 days after the operation. A month later, you need to come to remove tampons from the external auditory canal and test your hearing.

It is recommended:

  • to take a slightly warm shower;
  • to walk outside;
  • to sneeze with an open nose and mouth;
  • to keep your ear away from water.

It is prohibited:

  1. to take a bath;
  2. to go in for sports 1-3 months after the operation;
  3. to sneeze;
  4. to blow your nose;
  5. to eat crackers, nuts, seeds for 2 weeks;
  6. to fly 1.5 months after surgery;
  7. to use the metro for 2-3 weeks (usually undesirable).

Эпитимпанит — что это?

Эпитимпанит является заболеванием, при котором единственной тактикой лечения является хирургическое вмешательство. Данное заболевание опасно для жизни пациента, так как никакие препараты и лекарства не могут оказать эффекта. Эпитимпанит в большинстве случаев характеризуется наличием холестеатомы, которая, в свою очередь, выделяет фермент, разрушающий костную ткань. Так как между средним ухом и головным мозгом существует очень тонкая костная пластинка, то её разрушение — лишь вопрос времени. Помимо близкого расположения головного мозга, непосредственно в барабанной полости проходит канал лицевого нерва, а также находится орган равновесия, при поражении которых возможен парез мимической мускулатуры, и головокружение.

Диагностика

Обязательная диагностика включает:

  • аудиометрию;

  • компьютерную томографию височных костей;

  • в некоторых случаях необходимо выполнение МРТ височных костей с целью уточнения хирургической тактики.

Так же могут требоваться дополнительные исследования, такие как вестибулометрия, электромиография и др.

Предоперационное обследование

Перед тем, как пациента помещают в стационар, ему обязательно нужно пройти ряд лабораторных исследований и функциональных проб. Именно от их результатов зависит, удастся ли избежать осложнений впоследствии.

Обязательное обследование включает:

  • аудиометрию;

  • общий анализ крови;

  • биохимию крови;

  • коагулограмму – анализ свертываемости крови;

  • общий анализ мочи;

  • анализ на группу крови и резус-фактор;

  • флюорографию грудной клетки;

  • электрокардиографию.

Аудиометрия должна быть выполнена перед хирургическим вмешательством и сдана в аудиометрический кабинет в день выписки во избежание ее утери. Вы можете сделать ее ксерокопию или фото, но сам документ должна храниться в аудиометрическом кабинете, так как это единственный способ контроля слуха.

Подготовка

В преддверии операции необходимо:

  • отказаться от алкоголя и курения;

  • отказаться от тяжелой пищи, при этом последний прием должен быть минимум за 6 часов до операции (нежирный бульон, мясо или рыба, фрукты и овощи);

  • не пить за 4 часа до операции;

  • если операция проводится утром, то пациент должен быть натощак.

Чек-лист необходимых вещей в больнице:

  • удобная одежда (спортивный костюм, футболки из натуральной ткани, сменное белье);

  • комфортная обувь;

  • тапочки;

  • средства личной гигиены;

  • книга или ноутбук, так как после операции придется провести в стационаре еще 1-2 дня.

Обратите внимание! Ценные вещи лучше отдать родственникам на время проведения операции или предупредить медицинский персонал о них.

Восстановительный период

После окончания операции, когда вы проснетесь, на голове будет повязка. До полного пробуждения вы будете находиться под контролем докторов и только после этого вас переведут в палату, поэтому если вам сказали что операция длится около часа-полутора, то это не значит что сразу по окончанию вы будете в палате. Процесс может занять еще 1-2 часа. После того, как вы приедете в палату, пить можно будет через 2-3 часа. Стоит помнить, что в определенных случаях, вам может быть необходимо лежать сутки, но об этом вас обязательно предупредят.

Обычно, через день после операции снимается наружная повязка. В слуховом проходе находятся тампоны Merocel. Тампоны в слуховом проходе будут стоять месяц, до момента их удаления необходимо капать капли на этот тампон. Может быть незначительная оттопыренность уха, которая со временем уйдет. Только после первой перевязки доктор сможет вас сориентировать касательно возможной даты выписки.

Послеоперационный период дома

Необходимо выполнять все рекомендации доктора. Вы на этапе выздоровления, но это не значит, что уже здоровы. Необходимая медикаментозная терапия обычно назначается индивидуально каждому при выписке. Швы снимаются на 7-8 день после операции. Через месяц нужно приехать для удаления тампонов из наружного слухового прохода и проверки слуха.

Рекомендуется:

  • принимать слегка теплый душ;

  • гулять на свежем воздухе;

  • чихать с открытым носом и ртом;

  • беречь ухо от попадания воды.

Запрещается:

  • принимать ванну;

  • заниматься спортом 1-3 месяца после операции;

  • чихать;

  • сморкаться;

  • есть сухарики, орешки, семечки 2 недели;

  • летать 1,5 месяца после операции;

  • пользоваться метро нежелательно 2-3 недели.